FearlessFriday: Yannique

This week’s fearless feature features Freelance Fashion Stylist, Yannique.

Image

I’ve always been pretty determined and pro active towards my goals and knowing what I want. But there is no feeling like being at peace with yourself and who you are as individual and REALLY achieving your dreams.

Growing up I had an amazing childhood in a loving household, went to college, obtained a business degree but never felt that I knew exactly what I was good at. Though fashion was in my “blood” since a kid, I could never seem to know what direction to go in or what exact field. I also never considered myself creative especially looking up to some amazing talented people in fashion, music and art. It wasn’t until after the end of my first job after college that I realized I wanted to get into fashion styling. I did what I had to do to learn as much as I could. Interned, assisted, studied, researched, started a very rookie portfolio and just kept going. I even started to get booked for small gigs, until I received the “dream” job of working on a celebrity styling team. Red carpets, music videos, performances, even a tour. Through all this however I still had self-doubt. The thoughts of not being talented enough, or good enough would resurface, especially once that gig ended after a year. Unbeknownst to me, however that was one of the best things that happened to me. When that gig ended, I took some much needed “me time”, got into a deeper relationship and spiritual walk with God and really just began to figure myself out.  I drowned out the negative thoughts and followed my heart and my passion.  I took on a fairly easygoing part time job that allowed me to maintain fashion styling gigs and clients. Earlier this year, I even took a leap of faith and began a book project that had been in my heart for a few years now. The best part was the peace that came over me. My attitude changed, the way I talked changed, just me in general. It was that moment that I realized I was comfortable in my own skin. I was OK with not having every little thing together yet knowing exactly what I want in life. I was ok with continuing to pursue my dreams in my late 20s. I was ok with being Yannique whether people have heard of her or not. The moment I became FEARLESS.

Yannique

Twitter:@itsyannij

Instagram: @yannij

Want to share you #fearless moments? Contact david@hairrules.com

Leave a Reply

